Saturday, October 31, 2009
The League on FX
Did anyone see The League on FX last Thursday? I forgot to set my DVR and I wanted to know if it was any good. it certainly looked funny.
State of the Stack - NFL 2009 League
I am 2-5 going into this week. Drew Brees not throwing a TD for 2 weeks and RB problems have led to this record. If I lose this weekend, I will be simply playing for pride and position.
Sunday, October 18, 2009
4th and inches call - I agree with it
I agree with the call. Why not, I just wish we had scored the TD.
Wait we just got the ball back. Way to go Saints D!!!
Wait we just got the ball back. Way to go Saints D!!!
Weak QBs
I am sick and tired of QBs being treated like china dolls. You call that roughing the passer? Seriously? What a load of horse manure.
Should have started Brees - Coulda, but didn't
I started Jake Delhomme over Drew Brees because of the Giants D. Made a mistake obviously. Doesn't matter because we are up 20-3!
Ist Quarter: 14-3 Saints vs Giants
1 down and 3 more to go. Let's hope the Giants D gets tired soon. I really liked the way both sides of the ball were playing for the Saints. The Giants just seem a little off in the passing game. It should be 14-7 if I am being honest. Right now, I don't care.
Just give Colston the TD
Are you kidding me Tom? Just put the red flag back and work on your offense. 19 yards of offense and the Ist Quarter is almost done. Stick a fork in it. Who DAT!
Blogging Saints Game 1:15 PM EST
I love it. The Saints had the opening kick off and took the ball down the field. 4th and inches on the 1, they go for it and Mike Bell leaps for a TOUCHDOWN!!! After all these years, it is nice to see. More to follow.
Wednesday, October 14, 2009
Rush Limbaugh and the NFL
For the record, I do not listen to Rush Limbaugh. Not because I do not agree with him, but because my Iriver H340 gets FM stations and WTKK 96.9 has great hosts. I even like Jim Braude even though I think he is the proto-typical liberal blowhard.
I wanted to write about the deal with him buying into the RAMS. My point is very brief. How can an organization that lets thugs, spouse abusers, drug users, and killers (Donte Stallworth) into and back into the league and shut out someone like Rush Limbaugh who has the money to buy into a franchise?
I thought his comments on Donavan McNabb silly and uninformed, but not made with racists intentions. If I am to understand the situation it is these comments that caused many owners to declare that they would vote against him.
I understand that many people have been rubbed the wrong way by Rush, but again I ask, you can let criminals play in your league, but you can't let a big, white guy who runs his mouth for a living into your league? I am not sure I understand. BWL
I wanted to write about the deal with him buying into the RAMS. My point is very brief. How can an organization that lets thugs, spouse abusers, drug users, and killers (Donte Stallworth) into and back into the league and shut out someone like Rush Limbaugh who has the money to buy into a franchise?
I thought his comments on Donavan McNabb silly and uninformed, but not made with racists intentions. If I am to understand the situation it is these comments that caused many owners to declare that they would vote against him.
I understand that many people have been rubbed the wrong way by Rush, but again I ask, you can let criminals play in your league, but you can't let a big, white guy who runs his mouth for a living into your league? I am not sure I understand. BWL
Monday, October 12, 2009
Guest OP-ED - No Football
No Football
I did not watch one second of football this weekend. I did catch a few highlights, but I am not counting that. I will watch Monday night football. I can honestly say that I did not miss anything on Sunday. Was football even played? What the hell happened Sunday? I am at a loss.
First, I knew exactly what was going to happen when I found out Oakland was going to New York. I was right. That was the only game televised in the morning here on the west coast. I did not even come close to thinking about watching it. It would have been more exciting to watch paint dry. Oakland like St. Louis are complete embarrassments to the league.
Second, can someone tell me how one of the best defenses in the league allows 45 points to a visiting team. Yes, I am talking about the 49ers. I think everyone but Coach Singletary was looking forward to the upcoming bye week. They started the bye a week early. I think coach will have a few words for them. How do you let someone do that to you in your own house.
Third, how come it took Dallas overtime to beat KC. Did they forget who they were playing? Even as bad as Dallas is (and they are bad), they should have had no problems giving KC a beat down. Predictions; Wade Phillips gets fired by the end of the season, Jason Garrett (Offensive Coordinator, and the so called incumbent coach) gets fired. Roy Williams exits Dallas and Tony Romo loses star power in that city and fans call for his replacement. Jerry Jones spends as much money as the United States' deficit for a stadium and puts THAT product onto the field. Heads are going to roll in big d.
Fourth, Cleveland @ Buffalo. Browns win by the score of 6-3. Buffalo fan should demand their money back. I thought this could be a good game. I know Cleveland does not have a hockey team and Buffalo does not have a baseball team and neither have a soccer team so what the hell happened. How does Buffalo allow the visiting team to come into their house and beat them with a replacement kicker. Hey Buffalo fan, Mount T.O. is about to erupt. But do not worry the Sabres are still in the playoff race for the Stanley Cup.
Fifth, I thought I was in bizarro world when I saw that Seattle shutout Jacksonville 41-0. I understand they were in Seattle, but it is the Seahawks after all. Plus, the Jags put 37 on Tennessee the week prior. How does Seattle accomplish this feat, especially with the team that they have. Can anyone name a receiver that Hasselbeck throws to. When did they get a defense. How did they shutdown MJD? Where did the Jags D go? Weird!
Sixth, Josh McDaniels and the Broncos are 5-0. They are the luckiest team in the NFL this year. I have heard people say in the past that you are as good as your record. In this case I could not disagree more. Denver is not even close to being a good team let alone being undefeated. Have you watched this team play? The only smart thing that Orton does is get the ball to Marshall and he seems to score every time. They have no running game, and no one else to throw the ball to. What happened to Eddie Royal? The defense actually seems to be OK. They the Bengals on a crap play. The Bengals are better than people thought they would be. They beat the Browns, who are worse than people thought they would be. They beat the Raiders, duh. They were evenly matched with Dallas and got by them. Then they beat New England (McDaniels' old team). Besides luck, how does this team win?
In other words, I did not miss a thing this Sunday.
Guest OP-ED - The Four Busts
The Four Busts
Sacramento Knight: Commissioner NFL2009 FF League
There are four players that I keep tabs on just to see if the light goes on. So far, not even close. I wonder if they even have a light socket to put a bulb in. I know they all have talent, but it is best suited for the NCAA. Out of the four, the one who has been in the league the longest is Reggie Bush. Granted he has had the most success out of the four, but that is not saying much. The Saints want him to play 3 or 4 different positions like he did at USC. That experiment is not working. He is not good enough to be the starting running back (Pierre Thomas beat him out). He can't be a starting wide receiver (Devery Henderson, Marquis Colston, Lance Moore and even Robert Meachem beat him out). So that leaves him with being a returner. Saints pay him a lot of money to be an inconsistent returner. He will either have 2 touchdowns or 2 fumbles. I see this all too often from him. Do the Saints and Reggie realize this is the NFL not USC. A lot money and a waste of a draft pick. His stats are not great and they should be. Reggie is over hyped and underachieving. I know there are people who will disagree, but please remember that he was the third overall pick and is getting a big paycheck from football alone, not to mention all his endorsements. I thought endorsements were for stars. He definitely is not one. I think he more famous for dating Kim Kardashian than playing football. Reggie Bush is a bust.
The next player Darren McFadden. Some of what I said about Reggie Bush can be applied to Darren as well. They are the same type of player. Darren has talent, but it is for the college game. He does not do any return duties. He plays wide receiver a little, but mainly he is a running back. The Raiders have realized (unlike the Saints) that he can't play several different positions and improve his game. Like Reggie, Darren has had a couple of 100 yard rushing games but that is it. Also, he does not know how to stay healthy. He too is over hyped and underachieving, plus the Raiders have a lot money tied up in him. The overall stats are not there. Maybe he should date someone famous. Darren McFadden is a bust.
Number three is Darrius Heyward-Bey. I still cannot believe that the Raiders drafted this guy and made him the top wide receiver chosen in the draft. Crabtree and Maclin were available and acceptable picks. There is way too much money tied up by this guy. Someone needs to tell him that when the ball hits his hands he is suppose to hold onto to it. I have never seen so many dropped passes by one player before in my life, and he is only 5 games into his rookie year. He has (at this point) 2 catches for 36 yards. He is the number 7 overall pick and is making millions of dollars and that is all he has done. I could retire right now if I was making money off of his dropped passes. Attention Al Davis, you have a plethora of problems with your team. However, drafting a guy because he is the fastest one in the draft does not work anymore, especially if he can't catch the ball. I do not think stick-um would help this guy. I know it is early in his career but just watching him play makes you nauseous. Darrius Heyward-Bey is a bust.
Last but not least, the biggest bust of all is JaMarcus Russell. I know his offensive line is one of the worst in the league. I also know that he missed his first year because of a hold out. Have you ever seen a deer caught in headlights before. The deer looks more comfortable and poised, than Russell does playing quarterback. The Raiders have not even given him the entire playbook and he has not shown any signs of improvement. Yet, here is another player the Raiders are paying an ungodly amount of money to. My question is why. Is it because he can throw a pass 80 yards in the air from his knee. That does not help in the NFL. Since he cannot hit an open receiver, I am sure he has a horrible problem just trying to warm up. Every time the center snaps the ball I want to turn away and watch a train wreck, it would be less painful. He may have been good at LSU, but again this is the NFL. I can't think of anything good to say about his play. I would love to see Brad Gradkowski play then watch Russell take another snap. It is just plain ugly. JaMarcus Russell is a bust.
Thursday, October 8, 2009
United Football League: My first impression
Just finished watching the Dodgers beat the Cardinals in the bottom of the 9th so I flipped over to Versus to watch the United Football Leagure or UFL. The Las Vegas Locomotives hosted the California Redwoods. I will start with the good first.
It was nice watching Dennis Green and Jim Fassel work on the sidelines. Both coaches had success in the NFL and it was good to see them again.
Seeing the game in HD made it seem legit, and my favorite part was watching Kordell Steward do sideline reporting with the players after big plays. I liked that better than watching Suzy Kolber chasing some guy down for a sound bite. I felt like I was part of a "real" experience. It's obvious they do not have a large production budget; however, the UFL and Versus put on a polished show with a few minor audio glitches.
Whoever was paid to design the uniforms for this league should give their money back. For one thing, the color scheme for the two teams were so similar that I had a hard time telling them apart. Also, who names their team after a tree (Redwoods)? If I was a team owner in California I think I would pick the Prospectors, Grizzlys, Sea Lions, or something like that, but a tree? If you are going to name a team after a tree then the uniform ought to look like a tree with red trousers and a dark green top with a helmet to match. Instead I saw some silver and lime green ensemble that almost blinded me in HD.
I won't comment on the game play except that your expectations should not be high when you watch this league. It is going to take a while to get some quality players, so if you want to see better execution watch NCAA for now. Still it appeared that the teams had put in effort so while the product was not NFL quality it was not bad either.
I think I am going to give it a couple of weeks and try it again. I am going to see if anyone else watched any of the UFL games. Let me know what you think,
BWL
It was nice watching Dennis Green and Jim Fassel work on the sidelines. Both coaches had success in the NFL and it was good to see them again.
Seeing the game in HD made it seem legit, and my favorite part was watching Kordell Steward do sideline reporting with the players after big plays. I liked that better than watching Suzy Kolber chasing some guy down for a sound bite. I felt like I was part of a "real" experience. It's obvious they do not have a large production budget; however, the UFL and Versus put on a polished show with a few minor audio glitches.
Whoever was paid to design the uniforms for this league should give their money back. For one thing, the color scheme for the two teams were so similar that I had a hard time telling them apart. Also, who names their team after a tree (Redwoods)? If I was a team owner in California I think I would pick the Prospectors, Grizzlys, Sea Lions, or something like that, but a tree? If you are going to name a team after a tree then the uniform ought to look like a tree with red trousers and a dark green top with a helmet to match. Instead I saw some silver and lime green ensemble that almost blinded me in HD.
I won't comment on the game play except that your expectations should not be high when you watch this league. It is going to take a while to get some quality players, so if you want to see better execution watch NCAA for now. Still it appeared that the teams had put in effort so while the product was not NFL quality it was not bad either.
I think I am going to give it a couple of weeks and try it again. I am going to see if anyone else watched any of the UFL games. Let me know what you think,
BWL
Tuesday, October 6, 2009
State of the Stack: Not Good
For the last two weeks, I have had my starting QB, Drew Brees not throw a TD and Frank Gore being out has really put a damper on my team. My idea for subs has not worked out in the RB department. Reggie Bush and Ahmad Bradshaw combined for a grand total of 6 points last week. I lost by a total of 17 points last week.
Basically for this week, I need to start over with fresh batter and rebuld the stack. I need a QB, because Brees (God love him) is on a Bye this week, Marques Colston is on a Bye this week and my running backs and defense stink. Tennessee, who I started this week thinking they would bounce back, allowed 37 points from Jacksonville. That cost me at least10 points and mad
I have good tight ends (Jason Witten and Todd Heap) and I decent kicker. I do not think I am out of this, I just need to see what is out there and select the best player for the open position.
Basically for this week, I need to start over with fresh batter and rebuld the stack. I need a QB, because Brees (God love him) is on a Bye this week, Marques Colston is on a Bye this week and my running backs and defense stink. Tennessee, who I started this week thinking they would bounce back, allowed 37 points from Jacksonville. That cost me at least10 points and mad
I have good tight ends (Jason Witten and Todd Heap) and I decent kicker. I do not think I am out of this, I just need to see what is out there and select the best player for the open position.
Saturday, October 3, 2009
I am back.... sort of
It is amazing how reality can totally screw up your perfect fantasy world. Suffice to say that I have not been able to escape reality long enough over the last couple of days to really tend to my fantasy teams, or blog for that matter.
Things have calmed down a bit, and I hope to get back at it starting today. BWL
Things have calmed down a bit, and I hope to get back at it starting today. BWL
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)