Monday, October 12, 2009

Guest OP-ED - No Football

No Football




I did not watch one second of football this weekend. I did catch a few highlights, but I am not counting that. I will watch Monday night football. I can honestly say that I did not miss anything on Sunday. Was football even played? What the hell happened Sunday? I am at a loss.



First, I knew exactly what was going to happen when I found out Oakland was going to New York. I was right. That was the only game televised in the morning here on the west coast. I did not even come close to thinking about watching it. It would have been more exciting to watch paint dry. Oakland like St. Louis are complete embarrassments to the league.



Second, can someone tell me how one of the best defenses in the league allows 45 points to a visiting team. Yes, I am talking about the 49ers. I think everyone but Coach Singletary was looking forward to the upcoming bye week. They started the bye a week early. I think coach will have a few words for them. How do you let someone do that to you in your own house.



Third, how come it took Dallas overtime to beat KC. Did they forget who they were playing? Even as bad as Dallas is (and they are bad), they should have had no problems giving KC a beat down. Predictions; Wade Phillips gets fired by the end of the season, Jason Garrett (Offensive Coordinator, and the so called incumbent coach) gets fired. Roy Williams exits Dallas and Tony Romo loses star power in that city and fans call for his replacement. Jerry Jones spends as much money as the United States' deficit for a stadium and puts THAT product onto the field. Heads are going to roll in big d.



Fourth, Cleveland @ Buffalo. Browns win by the score of 6-3. Buffalo fan should demand their money back. I thought this could be a good game. I know Cleveland does not have a hockey team and Buffalo does not have a baseball team and neither have a soccer team so what the hell happened. How does Buffalo allow the visiting team to come into their house and beat them with a replacement kicker. Hey Buffalo fan, Mount T.O. is about to erupt. But do not worry the Sabres are still in the playoff race for the Stanley Cup.



Fifth, I thought I was in bizarro world when I saw that Seattle shutout Jacksonville 41-0. I understand they were in Seattle, but it is the Seahawks after all. Plus, the Jags put 37 on Tennessee the week prior. How does Seattle accomplish this feat, especially with the team that they have. Can anyone name a receiver that Hasselbeck throws to. When did they get a defense. How did they shutdown MJD? Where did the Jags D go? Weird!



Sixth, Josh McDaniels and the Broncos are 5-0. They are the luckiest team in the NFL this year. I have heard people say in the past that you are as good as your record. In this case I could not disagree more. Denver is not even close to being a good team let alone being undefeated. Have you watched this team play? The only smart thing that Orton does is get the ball to Marshall and he seems to score every time. They have no running game, and no one else to throw the ball to. What happened to Eddie Royal? The defense actually seems to be OK. They the Bengals on a crap play. The Bengals are better than people thought they would be. They beat the Browns, who are worse than people thought they would be. They beat the Raiders, duh. They were evenly matched with Dallas and got by them. Then they beat New England (McDaniels' old team). Besides luck, how does this team win?



In other words, I did not miss a thing this Sunday.

2 comments:

  1. I disagree. Watching the Patriots lose one, and then watching Tom Brady's pathetic post game conference brought joy to my soul!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I enjoy the pats losing. it fills my heart with joy, but nothing really happened in week 5.
    sk/commish

    ReplyDelete

All fixxed up? Thanks for stopping by to get your fix!