Sacramento Knights, Commissioner for the NFL2009 Fantasy League, wrote this piece and asked if I would post it. I have posted this piece without any edits. I think he speaks for a lot of NFL fans so read this piece and let me know if you agree. Thanks commish for offering this up for review.
Week 1 Crap
Sacramento Knights
I watched 4 games on this the opening weekend for the NFL. I watched Minnesota @ Cleveland, Denver @ Cincinnati, Buffalo @ New England, and San Diego @ Oakland. All these games have one thing in common...crap. The first two games the NFl cannot do anything about. It is what it is. The Minnesota game was the first regular season start for Brett Favre as the Vikings QB. Like nobody knew that. Kind of like Jerome Bettis is from Detroit during Pittsburgh steal of that Super Bowl against Seattle played in Detroit and was Jerome final games of his career(for all you Jim Rome fans). Yet all I heard from the broadcast team was how good Brett is and how well he managed the game and how Minnesota should be in the Super Bowl because now their team is complete now that Favre is there. What a bunch of crap! He managed not to throw an interception, he managed to not fumble the ball when he was sacked on several occasions. He managed the game well because he did not know the playbook and his team was winning most (not all) of the game.
The second game I watched was Denver @ Cincinnati. I can tell you that Denver is a crap team and played like it. The Bengals actually seem to play fairly decent. Back to Denver. Kyle Orton played like crap, Denver ran the ball like crap, McDaniels even seemed to coach like crap, but that was not the crappiest thing of all. Yes, I am speaking of the Stokley play at the end of the game to seal the win for Denver. That was crap! Denver still has some luck on their side after all. Stokley completely quits on the play and yet he still manages to be in the right place at the right time. So he makes his mad dash to the end zone for the win and the Bengals bad luck continues.i picked Denver to win that game but that should be a Bengal victory. denver and Stokley are completely undeserving of that win. I hate Denver anyways and I hope their luck runs out completely very soon. I miss the days when they were fighting with KC an S.D. for last place.
Buffalo @ New England. I absolutely hate the Patriots(and their fans). Now that is out of the way, When will the NFL finally kick this team back to the curb again. Ever since 9/11/01, the "Patriots" have been Americas team. What a coincidence. Wink, Wink. Why is it that the hoody and the Pretty boy get EVERYTHING their way. Their team is never penalized when the game is on the line, but there opponents are. How about that? Tuck rule, let not even go there. Yes, Raider fan is still bitter about that and rightfully so. The Patriots had a TD count and the Raiders in their game had one taken away. WHY? It was the same exact play! It just shows that it is OK for the Patriots but not for anyone else. That is crap! Anyone can have an incredible career and be consider that best QB when the refs and the league hand it to you on a silver platter(Lombardi Trophy). I am beyond fed up with this team and the preferential treatment they get. It will be a glorious day when they go back to last place and winning 3 games a year with nobody caring. That game, that win belongs to Buffalo. The Patriots were even given a first down without them getting the necessary yardage. They were a minimum of a yard short and the refs just gave them a first down. At the end of their drive was, of course, a touchdown. Buffalo got robbed and the refs helped. What crap.
Finally, I come to San Diego @ Oakland. I picked S.D. to wipe the floor with Oakland. It did not happen. It just shows that Norv Turner can run one of the most talented teams into the ground. The Raiders played very well, surprisingly. The game was ripped from the Raiders and given to the Chargers. The TD at the end of the first half that was taken away, is crap. The Patriots, as I stated above, had the same exact play count for a touchdown. Not the Raiders, heaven forbid. Murphy catches the ball with possession and not only does he have both feet land in the middle of the end zone, he even has his knees and hip hit the ground and still have possession. His arm that is holding the ball hits that ground and he still has possession. But, because he does not hang on to it as he is trying to stop and get up the pass is ruled incomplete. That is the biggest bunch of crap since the tuck rule game against the Patriots. How two teams can stay at opposite ends of the spectrum fro so long is unbelievable to me. Everything has to go against the Raiders and everything has to go right for the Patriots. Now, you can call me an extremely bitter Raiders fan and you would be right, but the facts are there and there are to many to list. You know I am right. It is a bunch of crap!
I think it is safe to say the Knight is not happy. That being said, he makes some vailid points.
ReplyDelete