Retirement: Bruschi and Favre
I am not a Patriots fan, but I cannot help but contrast how Tedy Bruschi and Brett Favre did the whole retirement program thing for the NFL. By the way, even though I am not a Patriots fan there was several times I wished he was in a Saints uniform. I was impressed that he was still playing at 37, but wondered how effective he would be when Chris Cooley burned right by him for a 70+ yard gain in pre-season. I did not have to wonder. Tedy is retired and he made it clear that he was done with football. Tedy assessed the situation and decided to hang up his football cleats. He went out on top and for that he has my respect.
I watched the Houston/Vikings preseason game and my opinion is this. I just don't see Favre being effective for 16 games. I am not buying it. Even though the ESPN Monday Night crew were singing his praises, I did not see him as an upgrade over Sage Rosenfels who the Vikings spent money and draft picks to acquire.
I wish Tedy the best and if you are a Vikings fan you need to look no further than last year to get an idea of where you team will be in December. I could be wrong, but I do not think so this time.
No comments:
Post a Comment
All fixxed up? Thanks for stopping by to get your fix!